• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Two things (Brown Santa is In)

mikedashg

NAXJA Forum User
My new HD front dana 30 diff cover shipped with "all new Stainless fasteners" and they are grade 5. Was kind of surprised they weren't grade 8. Is that overkill or something? Honestly I just default to grade 8 on just about everything. Figure it couldn't hurt in the way I use my Jeep. I sort of want to run to Napa and get some anodized grade 8's. Opinions?

Also, I've been wheeling for 12 years, and I never have ONCE wished I had a snatch block on the trail (ha, ha, yes I said snatch, too easy, let it go). I've always wanted to carry one anyway, just in case, so I bought one. But boy this thing is HEAVY. Kind of don't want to carry it now to save on the weight. Why the heck did I buy it? There's usually something or someone to grab onto on the trail when I wheel, so I've never really wanted to pull from another angle. I've also never seemed to really need to "double the power" of my 9.5K winch. I wheel the rocks at Johnson Valley, so it's not like I haven't TRIED to need to use winch tools. I've for sure used the winch though. Someone convince me to carry it, or put it up on the for sale section, lol.

Grade 8 is overkill on the diff cover....but it you really want them :dunno:

I wheel a lot in So. Utah and recall of a couple of recoveries in tight canyons that we couldn't have done with a snatch block......but if it's too heavy for your rig, I'll give you $20 for it.

thats like when customers bring me all this 'armor' or susp items that come with reg ole grade 5 hardware, with split style lock washers. What a joke...