• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to XJ, got a couple questions..

Jk2xj1

NAXJA Forum User
Sorry guys if this is somewhat re-hashed noob questions..I searched a lot and didn't see what I need answered. I am somewhat new to my Xj, and a total noob on this forum. First a little background about what I am working on. I own a 1993 4 door Cherokee, 4x4, auto trans 8.25 rear. When I purchased it, the P.O. had installed a small RC lift (3" I think), the lift was really worn out from age.

I decided I would buy a few parts, and some new tires (old ones were worn bad); and upgrade the XJ. I've had other Jeeps (JK and CJ) and they were a bit different when lifting. I added a set of Rusty's 4.5" front coils, and their 4.5 full leaf packs in the rear along with 6* shims to correct the pinion angle.

Here is where the questions come in...

1) I didn't have any drive-line vibes or noise prior to moving to the 4.5 setup. I now know from searching and reading that at this height some extra work is needed but I need to know what to buy next to make it go away..I am totally confused. I see so many mixed reviews on which SYE or Hack and tap to purchase..also a rear drive shaft..I see so many options here as well. Money isnt a huge issue here, but I'd like something that will last and fix these noises and vibes. As of right now I hate hearing a slight grinding noise when I let off the gas at about 45mph ( I am assuming this is because the slip is about 1" out of the T case?). Anyways I am looking for a few more opinions on all this.

Sorry for the rambling on but I just didnt see exactly what I was looking for on the subject during the searches. Also..do I buy the shaft and SYE at same time? If so how do I know what length shaft to use?? I am confused!