• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how much more welding do i need to do for my frame stiffeners?

Vanimal

NAXJA Forum User
so i started welding on my frame stiffeners, and i have a fair amount of 1/2" holes i drilled in them for rosette welding.
got one side done, but i am curious about welding the perimeter of the stiffeners to the frame. i dont know if going all the way around is the best idea as it might be a stress riser, and im sure all that heat is not good for the heat treated frame. about how much more welding should i do? the rock rails were already on so i cut out a square in the stiffeners for them and welded them around the perimeter there. be kind, im a self taught welder, i know it isnt beautiful. :laugh:

6988268567_a75405ba7a_z.jpg

6842110878_16b384a187_z.jpg

I don't know what the norm is for those, but i will say that if you decide to weld along the edges you definitely do NOT want to weld the whole edge. For the most strength you would weld an inch, skip an inch, weld an inch...etc.

Realistically i think 1 inch every 4-5 inches would be just as good.

thanks guys, sounds like a plan. i was kinda thinking the same thing, just wanted to confirm

ok so i did about a 2 inch weld between each rosette weld as you can see in the pics. i could have done more, but it seemed redundant to weld so close to the rosette welds. what do you guys think?
6988337411_dba87999e5_z.jpg

Did you weld on the bottom side of the stiffener as well as the sides? Welding between the rosettes should do just fine then just coat the whole seam with some seam sealer and should be good.

Did you weld on the bottom side of the stiffener as well as the sides? Welding between the rosettes should do just fine then just coat the whole seam with some seam sealer and should be good.