• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drum brakes wet, not sure where it's comeing from

Redsnake

NAXJA Forum User
OK... so I've been getting a bit of a squeal f/my rear passenger drum brake on my '01 XJ. I assumed it could be time to replace the shoes (have 124K miles on her) and when I pulled the drum on my passenger side wheel and the drum, it was saturated/wet w/fluid. Not sure what kind of fluid or where it came from as it was so dirty. I'm a newbie on drums and wondered if it could be a cylinder leaking or if perhaps an axle seal leaking? I didn't notice any fluid coming f/where the axle is, but that's not to say it's not the culprit.

What do you think, is this a potential wreck waiting to happen or what???

Any suggestions? I'm wanting to upgrade to disks on the rear, but at this very time I'm not in a place to do that financially. I'd just like to fix this and then upgrade down the road.

Here's some pics...

DrumBrakes.jpg

DrumBrakes2.jpg

inside of drum

DrumBrakes3.jpg

outside of drum edge... notice the wet area all around the drum

DrumBrakes4.jpg

drivers side drum for reference. nice and dry.

DrumBrakes5.jpg

The second pic looks as if there is a spot on the wheel cylinder... I would start there... Go in and pump the brakes and see if anything comes out.
Fwiw they are pretty cheap to replace.

Brake Cylinders are cheap, buy a pair and service your brakes. Gear oil or brake fluid saturated brake shoes need to be replaced.

Gotta be either the wheel cylinder or else the axle seal. Those are the only two things that can fail and dump goo on your shoes! I'd just replace both "while you're in there"