• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cracked Headers

JayBirdsXJ

NAXJA Forum User
The headers on my 98 XJ are apparently cracked but I'm half away around the world on deployment so I don't know how bad it is. I'm looking to order a new set but I'm not sure what kind to get. I have a flowmaster 40 series exhaust on there now and I'm not looking for any more noise just something a little better performance wise than the stock was. Any suggestions?

I had gibson headers and really thought they were great on my old 95 xj 4.0. I noticed the torque boost right away. They cost about 500$ but worth it.

yeah i was looking at Gibson headers earlier but my buddy said they were to much and headers don't make that much of a difference. Thanks for the advice man obviously im a rookie

Get an APN header from ineedparts.com. They're about $150 shipped.

Sent from my phone using the magical invisible interwebs.

I went with the APN header as well and was happy with it. But I guess on the 96+ 4.0s they need a little intake manifold clearing.

99 is the year that needs clearing. This is the year the bigger intakes came into play. I had two APN's on mine, first one cracked because my drivers side motor mount decided to part ways with the rest of the Jeep and took my less than 6 month old header with it.