• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

92 Chrokee Laredo budget build

lhamilton1807

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone! I'm a new jeeper (bought my XJ in June last year, 2011) and told myself I had to lift it. I'm a teacher, so mechanical stuff is outside my realm, but I'm learning quite a bit and quickly, so don't feel that you have to only use small words when talking to me. Anyway, thought I'd join up here & share what I did with my xj.

Project: 1992 Cherokee Laredo from stock height (likely 1/2" saggy in the front and 1"+ saggy in the back) to 3 1/2" or so above stock height for under $300, not including new (to me) tires. Yes, I'm cheap. But that just makes it more fun.

Here are the instructions I found:
http://www.lunghd.com/Tech_Articles/Suspension_Steering_Axles_and_Brakes/Budget_Lift.htm

My parts so far:

1988 Dodge Dakota rear spring pack & 1979 F150 front coils: $40 delivered
Front & rear Rough Country nitro shocks & dust boots: $127 shipped (resold boots on ebay - was warned they just collect crud)
Misc. parts for homemade leaf clips, swaybar disconnects, etc.: $25sih
Used rear rubber brake line from a YJ Wrangler (it's 2-3" longer than stock): $10
1.75" front coil spacers (used from eBay, only 20k mi on them): $30 shipped

So far I've gotten the Dakota packs split apart and have cut the main leafs to size. Once I'm ready for the lift (I need the help of a friend with some tools, etc) I'll put the Dakota packs (minus the overload spring) under the main leaf spring from the Jeep and won't use the other Jeep springs. I've got pics of before/after the cutting, and will update with those soon.

10/5/11 Pictures