• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 Questions

BigBluetrg

NAXJA Forum User
SO I am new to the world of XJs. I have a few jeep rockcrawlers and bought an 1994 XJ for my daughter. It had a tranny issue and was a smokin deal so I jumped on it. Figured to just replace the tranny but boy are those things pricy new and I wanted to get a few answers first before just swaping in a used.

Situation as is now...it goes forward in any gear except park, but seems like it may be under a load. I have gone thru several forms and tried all the quick fixes such as unplugging the ECU.

I dropped the pan and it smelled burnt (bad sign). Not sure if there is anything I can do to remedy the situation but when I pulled of the pan I started it up. Everything was the same. I know nothing about these trannies as my jeeps both have chevy 350 and th400. I figured it would pump the left over fluid out and not move. It did not pump out any more fluid and seemed like it didn't matter. all the gears still went forward.
When I drained the oil it was cool, but when I pulled out the valve body it dumped more fluid and was rather hot.

Looking thru the manual I see the clutch pack controls the reverse or seems too, but I was curious if anything in the valve body could have stuck?

I am sorry for the long post but was just curious as to why the fluid in the valve body would be hot, and as to why with no tranny pan on it didn't pump out what was left and not move? Like I said before all my limited knowledge as to the workings of an auto are Chevy th400 and when I lose the fluid they don't move anywhere, found that out when I ripped a cooler line off in the middle of no where.:D