• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

xj steering

gird123

NAXJA Forum User
Hi All,

I have had my xj since October and it is now running ok and sort of ready to wheel. I went wheeling today for the second time and in the first 2 min bent the tie rod in half. I did not have my camera. I removed and beat straight. I need new steering. I'm leaning towards Rusty's. Suggestions? Thoughts? I would consider building myself if it was easy. I'm just learning.

nate

id stay away from rustys..

check out the vendors here. there are alot of options out there. i plan on buying serious offroads over the knuckle steering kit when i have the funds.

i know everybody hates rustys but i have their steering not the otk but standard version and with 6.5 lift i have zero bumpsteer. rustys cannot control the quality of the tie rods as they are manufactured by others. so basically all he is providing is tubing. I would recommend it BUT would invest in jcr's tierod spacer to control roll on the pass tie rod also i put the drag link in the vertical position to help control roll as well.

i know everybody hates rustys but i have their steering not the otk but standard version and with 6.5 lift i have zero bumpsteer. rustys cannot control the quality of the tie rods as they are manufactured by others. so basically all he is providing is tubing. I would recommend it BUT would invest in jcr's tierod spacer to control roll on the pass tie rod also i put the drag link in the vertical position to help control roll as well.