• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rough Idle when Warm Renix

:doh: Im new to Renix jeeps I have a HO thats been very good to me .So anyway My 88 aw4 242 laredo runs great but after it warms up the Idle goes to chit 250 to 650 rpm . I know there is a bunch on sensors that go all wonky ,I have cleaned the TB and the tps Ive ran seafoam in the fuel and changed the fuel filter .This rig sat sense 07 has fresh tune up cap,rotor plugs wires .The rig was fine untill we went up to the snow level this weekend and I was driving in about 8 to 14 inches of snow depending on the ruts .Also this is a stock jeep Im wondering if it could be O2 sensor maybe please help need to fix for my wife to drive soon .

Very good possibility your oxygen sensor is the problem. Ever replace it? How exactly did you CLEAN your TPS? They don't take too well to that. If you wanna test/adjust your TPS, use the folowing instructions.

Renix CPS Testing and Adjusting

Renix CPSs have to put out a strong enough signal to the ECU so that it will provide spark.
Most tests for the CPS suggest checking it for an ohms value. This is unreliable and can cause some wasted time and aggravation in your diagnosis of a no-start issue as the CPS will test good when in fact it is bad.
The problem with the ohms test is you can have the correct amount of resistance through the CPS but it isn’t generating enough voltage to trigger the ECU to provide spark.
Unplug the harness connector from the CPS. Using your voltmeter set on AC volts and probing both wires in the connector going to the CPS, crank the engine over. It won’t start with the CPS disconnected.
You should get a reading of .5 AC volts.