• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New Owner, New Problems

Kuncle

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everyone, I am new to the jeep world and having a few issues with my recently purchased 99 cherokee sport. 189k miles. 4.0. auto. 4x4.

first thing I noticed my A/C compressor wasnt coming on with the HVAC switch so while trying to figure out why it wasnt working I gained a CEL.. Once I got my hands on an OBDII scanner it came back with "P0443" which is the evap purge solenoid. Which Ive scavenged a few at the local yards and none of them seem to make the slightest difference.

So after I racked my brain and searched everywhere for probable causes I've gained a seccond code for a fan circuit...

So pretty much as of right now Im looking at an EVAP leak that I have no idea where else to check, A/C compressor and secondary fans not working.. Any ideas on where to begin looking would be a major plus.:cheers:

Thanks in advance - Kyle

If the compressor is not running I'd be willing to bet the system is low on refrigerant. If you unhook the low pressure switch on the top of the receiver/dryer and jumper the connector that should make the compressor clutch cycle with the power on.

As for the P0443 You also should be looking for a vaccum leak. If the evap system doesn't get or hold vaccum it can set a code. I've run across more than one XJ that the connector on the side of the intake manifold is brittle and either fell of or doesn't seal correctly. You can use something like carb cleaner to spray around the hoses and fittings to look for leaks. If you spray one and the idle speed changes you have a leak.

I usually try to not use something flammable to do this but work with what you have.