• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Crankshaft, timing chain or ....Video

Finally got done removing the timing cover, here is a video and some pics with alot of questions....(oh, 147k mile on it)

Video,

Looks like a lot of slack to me....i'll go ahead and replace it.

TimingChainCover1.jpg

Sludge!

TimingChain1.jpg

That looks like a lot of sludge to me, or is just normal?

TimingChainHole1.jpg

Cleaned!
Is the hole in the pic normal?

Any advice and suggestions while i'm replacing the timing chain?

Appreciate all comments and suggestion ....need to decide if i should invest some $erious money in lift kit, etc......
:thumbup:

I am not an expert by any means, but IIRC, mine had no such play in my 87 or 89 jeeps when I was replacing the harmonic balancer on one and the AW4 on the other. And my 87 has 272,000 miles on it. I would say it may be time to replace the timing chain for sure (but I am not an expert on timing chains!!!). I think it is typical to change the gears at the same time.

judging soley by the stills, I say do the chain and gears.

I am not an expert by any means, but IIRC, mine had no such play in my 87 or 89 jeeps when I was replacing the harmonic balancer on one and the AW4 on the other. And my 87 has 272,000 miles on it. I would say it may be time to replace the timing chain for sure (but I am not an expert on timing chains!!!). I think it is typical to change the gears at the same time.

judging soley by the stills, I say do the chain and gears.

Thanks for the replies.
I'll be replacing the chain and gears but should i be concern about the sludge?
Looking at the timing cover, it looks really bad (147k mile but runs good).