• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ Eating Batteries?

HighTechTerror

NAXJA Forum User
DISCLAIMER: I am NOT good with vehicle electrical systems... Never have been. I think there is magic in them there wires :laugh3:

About a week ago the XJ slid sideways out of a rut and landed us in some fairly deep water... The front drivers wheel was nearly underwater... It took about 15-20 minutes to get it out. By the time we were done, I had about 3 inches of water in the drivers footwell. Everything seemed fine for a couple days until the "Check Gauges" light came on and the battery was pegged at 9 volts...

Took it home and charged the battery. Next day, battery 100%, made it less than 1 mile from the house and same issue. Battery reading 9 amps.

Thought I fried the alternator (original 170K miles). No big deal... Thought i would "treat" the Jeep by buying a NEW one!

New alternator in, no issues for two days... Then the same thing happened.

Swapped a different battery (same type) into the Jeep, same issue...

At this point I have a new alternator, and good battery. SO... now that I have read all threads about the things that can possibly be wrong, I have come out more confused than before :helpme:

Please do not be too hard on me...

1998 XJ 4.0L
HTT

At least on my '95, Fuse 1 and Fuse 9 are for the alternator. Perhaps when things were wet, those fuses blew. They are 60 amp fuses.

David Bricker / SYR

Also, can you measure the voltage at your battery? If the alternator is charging, you should run about 13.2 Volts, or a bit higher is the battery is down. If the alternator isn't charging, and the battery if full, it will be about 12.7 Volts.

David Bricker / SYR