• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need advice on moving front axle forward

Hellboy006

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys Im working on a 2000 xj that was purchased with a lift kit & 33"s already on it, Im pretty new to the scene & I would appreciate some advice from you seasoned vets..

The problem seems to be that the front axle is too far back, I think this is because it is sitting about 7 inches above stock & has non adjustable LCAs that must be for a much smaller lift, It also has adjustable UCAs but I noticed they seem to be adjusted as short as possible (No threads visible).

6046785924_cea53dee10.jpg
6046247281_2454ce7791.jpg

LCA & UCA

6046245069_1821b2530b.jpg

Drivers side

6046788348_dcb2281845.jpg

Passenger side

6046800806_aac81bc6f1.jpg

Bump-stop almost touching spring

The plan is to buy some IronMan adjustable LCAs & use the adjustment potential of the uppers we already have to move the axle forward a few inches while keeping about the same caster, I've already ordered an angle finder that I can use to check & record the angle before I swap the LCAs.

Another problem is that my drag link/tie rod joint is hitting the bottom of the sway bar disconnect during right turns, from what I've read this is a pretty common problem but it looks like moving the axle forward would make it worse.
As it is now the drag link part actually slides under the sway bar disconnect's mount & then pops back out with a bang when you steer back straight.. It looks like I could rotate the axle back a little & create enough space between the two that they wouldn't actually touch, but thats probably not a good idea.. The pinion angle already looks pretty steep & I dont want my caster all out of whack.

6046241305_e7d7dcd7a9.jpg
6046243235_ba54336478.jpg