• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

If the AX15 isn't broke, should I rebuild it?

montanaman

NAXJA Forum User
- 91 XJ
- 235,000 miles.
- Rebuilt 4.0L HO with 40k miles.
- AX15 with internal slave
- NP231 TC

Ok ... I need to pull my tranny to get at the internal slave cylinder. I'm thinking while I have it out, I should rebuild it, because I think it has 235K miles on it. It is shifting fine now and not really showing any problems, but I'm thinking "while it's out" I might as well do a full rebuild -- bearings, seals and synchros.

Here's some more info:

- I've never done a trans rebuild before and I'm kind of itching to do it as a learning experience.

- The serial number stamped on the bottom shows that it was made in November of 1990

- The tranny has a small amount red RTV sticking out between the case sections. Perhaps it's already had some work done before I bought it? Or does it come from the factory with red RTV?

- I plan on keeping this jeep forever ... at least another 10 years or so, and if the trans has high miles, I'd prefer to do it now, rather than wait for it to screw up in the future.

- If a main bearing goes bad in the future, and it's not addressed quickly, it can create more damage from the mis-aligned shafts and forks.

So ... what do you think? Should I rebuild it or not? The only thing that makes me think maybe not do the rebuild is that red RTV might mean it's already had major work done on it.