• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Loss of power??

Samson04

NAXJA Forum User
Okay guys, I have been working like crazy for about 3 months now and I'm finally going to be off this weekend and be able to tackle a list of things that have needed to be repaired for a while now. Need your help on where to start looking on a few problems.

First of all, 98xj sport, 4.0, AW4, with 187K+ miles sitting on 31x10.5 mt's with Skyjacker 3.5" lift. I recently replaced motor mounts with Brown Dog mounts but I have not welded the cracked manifold. Also, the catalytic converter is rattling like aluminum cans in a bag. No CEL's whatsoever. About a week ago I started noticing a significant loss of power, especially in the higher rpm's. Very noticeable when trying to pass someone or gain speed on the interstate. Would this be a result of the cc or the manifold? The manifold has been cracked for several months now, but it has gotten worse and louder. Any help on where to start is greatly appreciated.

Usually when there's a power loss after changing motor mounts, there's a vacuum leak somewhere (like a line disconnected). However, it's usually significant or total loss of power and immediate...not gradual.

Immediately after the motor mounts were installed, the throttle response was better and actually made the engine seem a little more peppy. The loss of power has happened over the last couple of weeks and it has been about a month or longer that I installed the mounts.

..... the catalytic converter is rattling like aluminum cans in a bag. ......

Clogged cat = power loss