• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

leaking radiator cap

gameface87

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Guys,

here is what happened:

Yesterday I was dicking around in my front yard trying to see how much flex I can get. After putting my jeep back in the driveway I saw a massive puddle of coolant. Upon further investigation, I saw that coolant was spilling from the radiator cap. The cap is tighten all the way down but some how coolant still comes out. This is my first project and I am learning as I go along. I had replaced the radiator about 2000 miles ago. Any suggestions? I have a 96 xj with a 4.0l HO motor.

thanks in advance

New cap is something obvious to try (16 pound without a release lever), but before you do that, be sure that the neck of the radiator isn't cracked, just below where the radiator cap screws down.

I would definitely replace the cap. Its cheap insurance against overheating. But while you have the cap off, I would put a cooling system pressure tester on the radiator. Don't pump it up, just put it on. Start the engine and let it get to operating temp. Rev the engine to 2500 rpm or so quickly, then quickly release it. Do that about 10 times. Watch the pressure gauge the whole time to make sure you don't exceed 16psi. If the gauge rises past 16psi under idle conditions or no load (and is not overheating), you most likely have head gasket issues.

Pushing some coolant out after running it hard with high load is pretty normal. If you were just putting around the yard and lost coolant without being overheated, that could mean probable head gasket failure. It is likely the radiator developed a leak from being overpressurized.

Just my buck oh five..