• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 30 build - need advice

yossarian19

NAXJA Forum User
I'm trying not to ramble on my 3rd draft here, but bear with me:

I bought a LP Dana 30 from a ZJ with the inline 6. I think it is 3.73 ratio. 150K on it.

I want to build it with WJ parts and U-joint style shafts. Probably go heim steering, too.

Here is my reasoning: I want to stick to 3" & 31s at largest for the forseeable future. I'm new in my field and don't have a ton of money to spend on a hobby vehicle. This makes the 3.73 ratio desirable as a builder - it will match the 8.8 rear end that I'll eventually pull from a junk yard. 3.73 should be just right for 30" tires, which won't rub on my current suspension.

The question is this: Am I seriously going to suffer at 2.5" of lift with an LP axle? Break my R&P / fold it like a taco under 30 - 31" tires? Is the ZJ with an I6 even 3.73 ratio?

If the axle is junk, I'll just take the XJ style shafts it came with & sell the axle, get my money back out of it. Maybe even keep the hubs.

Advice?

Theres no reason it wont work,Ive been running my 2000 with a LP D30 for 10yrs now.Im locked front and rear,6" of lift,33's with 4.10 gears and a 4:1 transfer case!!
And I wheel it hard!

I really doubt you'll break anything with 30-31" tires, especially the ring gear. Sounds like you are going a little hardcore for such a small lift and tires. ZJ steering should probably work out fine and maybe Currie if you want to go really beefy.

Does the ZJ 30 have CV ball style shafts or u-joints?

The ZJ shafts are CV style. That being said, the joint position spline count and length are all identical to the XJ shafts. I'd put them in between 260 and 760 joints for strength. I plan to put XJ shafts into it, I think.