• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Angered the 4wd Gods or My 4wd Won't Engage

emptypockets86

NAXJA Forum User
1986 XJ
Disco D30
A/T
2.8 L
72,xxx miles

Ok, this is my first Jeep and I'm still learning. I've been wheeling my XJ a lot lately and the last time I went out I lost 4wd. I tooled pretty far down the trail in 2wd, but when I went into 4wd it didn't feel like it engaged. The light on the dash lit up, but it just didn't feel right going through the mud. I ended up getting buried up to my axles and it was confirmed, no 4wd. I dug around in the mud and the vac lines were still connected as far as I could feel. My buddy pullled me out and after driving home I've let it sit since the weekend.

I read a fair bit, trying to wrap my mind around Jeep axle tech and have been trying to do some diagnosing today. Thus far I've jacked it up on the pass side with 4wd engaged. The front driveshaft doesn't spin in 4wd, so good there. However, the pass tire does spin in 4wd.

OK, so from what I've read it's something with either the vacuum or the CAD assembly itself, correct?

I've been checking out the vacuum lines by eye and thus far, everything looks good. Connectors are where they should be and I can't visually see any cracks in the lines (I know, I know, I need to bust out the vac guage to verify...)

I just want to see if there's anything else I should be checking at this point or something I may have missed?

Also, would a DIY posi-lock be a good option at this point as far as being more dependable then the vacuum assist set-up? Or would I be better off shimming the fork? I'm low on cash and these seem like pretty cheap alternatives for now. Any input appreciated.

Thanks ahead of time.