• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lock-rite install with thick gear's...

POSJ

NAXJA Forum User
I need some advice, all of my buddies are out of town this weekend and I'm new to gears/lockers installs.

My front lock-rite is broken:
jeep002-1.jpg

I ordered a new one to replace it, cool no problem...except now how do I get the center pin out with a thick gear set?

jeep001-2.jpg

I have read a bunch and I'm sure I have to remove the carrier. Do I have to take the ring gear off of the carrier to allow it to clear the center pin? Can someone explain the term preload(maybe with pictures)? I am a visual learner so if you could provide as many pictures as possible I would appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

P.S.
Yes I searched, google, pirate, here. I didn't find anything that allowed me to answer these questions.

Remove carrier, keep carrier bearing races and caps with their corresponding sides.

Remove ring gear from carrier

Remove roll pin/bolt holding cross pin in place

Remove cross pin

Pull old lockrite out

Put new lockrite in

Repeat steps 1-4 in reverse order.

Use new ring gear bolts with loctite and torque to spec.

So German torque doesn't work?:) Do I have to check the patterns and all that crap afterwards or should it be the same?

It looks like you are going to have to pull the shafts and pull the carrier. Once the carrier is out you can pull the ring gear off. Just make sure you mark the ring gear so you put it on the same way it is on the carrier now. Also, a lot of people suggest that don't reuse ring gear bolts once you take them off. A trick to getting the ring gear back onto the carrier is to put the carrier in the freezer for a couple hours so the metal slightly shrinks. IIRC the ring gear bolts are torqued to 55ft-lbs.