• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Sharp rocks in Socal?

Cherikon

NAXJA Forum User
Not that I am a noob, but I am curious where the trails are that you (very loose term for the fine wheelin brethren of NAXJA Socal) won't allow BFG tires on due to sidewall damage concerns.....

I am in the market for tires and I am trying really hard to compromise for a tire that will do well in many situations for wheeling down here. I usually run Goodyear MT/R's, but everywhere is out of stock and they are stupid expensive in the size I need at this moment.

So where are the sharp rock trails? Johnson Valley?

Please educate a young patron of the rock crawling arts.....

I need some justification as to why or when I won't be allowed on a trail with BFG's or similar tire brand.

Again, just to re-emphasize, I USUALLY run MT/R's and love them.... availability is killing my selection choice and I don't want to be left sitting at the trailhead watching all the "cool" kids have all the fun....

Thanks in advance!

you know the only place i cut up my sidewalls was on gold mountian in big bear i tore up two tires on the same day they had just "groomed the trail" with a doser

Sledgehammer got me.

DSCN0003.jpg

Nobody is going to tell you to stay home due to your tire choice...unless they are bald and rotted.

But yeah, BFG's suck, and rocks are sharp here.

you know the only place i cut up my sidewalls was on gold mountian in big bear i tore up two tires on the same day they had just "groomed the trail" with a doser

What he said X2, but I sliced up an MTR with 150 miles on it on Gold Mountain. Right from the tire shop to the trail, it was a goner. No warranty.

Nobody is going to tell you to stay home due to your tire choice...unless they are bald and rotted.

But yeah, BFG's suck, and rocks are sharp here.