• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Locking D30.. Aussie or Detroit

Norwegian

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, i'm new to lockers. Been snow wheeling with open diffs and i want to lock my front.
Funds are low so a little research has got me to where i need to choose between an Aussie or Detriot.

I'm going 8.8 in the rear with an LSD and i'll keep it like that for now until i can afford a selectable locker. 4.10 gears now, may go deeper if i can find affordable gears. (it's a POS diesel) Tires.. 33-35". Will probably see lots of street and DD duty as trails are hours away and i need to drive it to and from.

Now there are differences between the two i don't fully understand, can someone please tell me what they are and why i shoud choose one over the other.

Thanks, any performance differences?

Some say i won't know it's there while in 2wd but Eaton says you'll need unlockable hubs for road use.. . which is true?

I have an aussie, it was easy to install, but if i could do it again, id get the detroit, because it is stronger, but you cannot install it with just a normal set of tools.

my vote is for the aussie.... IMO the 30 ain't worth much more than that.

they are both similar, the aussie is cheaper and easier to install. I don't know about the road manners of the detroit, but the aussie is near invisible.

I know you said you were low on funds...but, if you're going to re-gear anyway and will need a new carrier (3.73 is the break, if I remember right), then I'd recommend an eaton e-locker. That way, you have an open differential until you want a locker...then it's locked.