• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ running hot on hills, offroad, city driving, i have some questions...

robhurlburt

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to wrenching on the 4.0l, so if this is no issues, let me know. '95 sport, 155k, auto.

I bought this jeep 2 months ago and am slowly fixing it up to be a trail rig. The coolant was horrific looking, so i used a 3 hour cleaner, put in a new thermostat, and flushed it 8-10 times with clean water. Still looking for a radiator cap. Before the flush, the temp gauge would cycle from 210 down to 160 (maybe?). Now on the highway it sits at 210, or a kiss under it.

On friday night we were driving around downtown for a good hour and the thermostat got up to around 225 (maybe?) and pretty much sat there until we started driving, then it would drop to 210. Same when I went offroading, and climbing large hills.

On saturday i took the jeep to get s-10 rear leafs, and when i got home i sat the jeep there to see if the aux fan would kick on. I was really warm (50f), and sure enough when it sat there after a long drive it eventually kicked on around 240 (maybe?).

Every car i have owned the thermostat just sits straight up. My wifes 4.0l (06 wrangler) and my buddies (00 XJ) the aux fan kicks on and off keep the termostat right at 210.

Is the aux fan kicking on too late?
What temp is it suppsed to kick on?
Is this normal behavior?
Why does the termostat not sit like other vehicles?
What work can be done to help keep it cool?

I am meeting my buddy after work with an infrared to test what temp the thermostat housing actually is.

thanks for the help!

I am new to wrenching on the 4.0l, so if this is no issues, let me know. '95 sport, 155k, auto.