• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I want to buy an MJ, Need Advice

XJdePlato

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all. I've been a jeep guy for the last ten years. I've had a really nice YJ and XJ in that time. My needs have changed and I need a pickup and thought a Comanche would be a good option. I'd like to have a High Output 4.0, so 91' or 92'. I know the 91' has a renix ECU and lacks a check engine light, does the 92' have a check engine light? I definatley want a 4x4. Does the MJ have a NP231 or does it have a fulltime tcase? I'm on the fence as to whether or not to get a long bed or short bed. Could I fit a dirtbike in the shortbed with the tailgate down? I'm a welder/fabricator and I will eventually build it up, but I plan on keeping it stock for a while. Thanks for any advice

I like not having a check engine light.

My MJ has a 231, I like the short bed. I think a bike would fit in a short bed with the gate up. I carry a quad in my 6' camping trailer, tight but it fits.

I've spent a year just getting my MJ running and back to stock, it's good now but it'll be great when I swap trannys. After running an XJ for 5-6 yrs. I really like the MJ.

I have not named it Suzy and I don't call it him/her...but it is my favorite Jeep.

Actually.. 90 is last year for renix, so 91 is first HO..
And the short bed is standard 6-6.5' IIrC so should fit.
5-spd = 231 for sure. Auto could go either way. Not 100% if MJ's had 242 option.

You could probably get one of those "bed extender" racks and drill some holes and bolt it in.
an old co-worker of mine did it on his 92 ranger with one of the newer racks.

I've spent a year just getting my MJ running and back to stock, it's good now but it'll be great when I swap trannys.