• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Sooo...having some issues

Spaz_Soldier

NAXJA Forum User
Well, I've been having some electrical issues with my XJ for a while now and I am NO electrician. They never really bothered me before. But, now that I'm getting better paychecks, I figured I'd fix stuff before upgrading stuff. Lol. Anyway, I tried searching, but there's nothing but billions of questions and write-ups for stuff that doesn't help me. So, I figured I'd try a new thread. On to it, then. '01 XJ, 4.0L, power everything.

First, my dome/interior lights stay on 24/7. Doors closed, switches off...still on. I just took the bulbs out and use the map lights to see.

Next, my rear defroster doesn't...defrost. I hit the switch and the little light comes on, but the window doesn't heat up in the least.

Finally I'm gettting some kind of feedback in my speakers. Sometimes, the driver's side door speakers don't come on until I turn the speakers way up. Almost always, I can hear a whine in the speakers that goes with the RPMs (higher pitch for higher RPMs/lower pitch for lower RPMs).

I think that's about it. Lol. Thanks in advance, everyone. :patriot:

Dome/interior lights--unswitched power source, a bad switch in a door or the hatch and those lights will run as longs as there is power.

Check for power where the harness attaches to the rear glass.

Whine could be a lot of things, likely from the alternator. The speaker issue sounds like the radio itself has problems.

Hmmm. That sounds like a simple check/fix on the lights.

I wish I had a wire tester thing. Lol.

Well, the whine is coming from the speakers. If I turn the head unit off, it all stops. Maybe a bad ground?

Try running an additional ground from the alternator body to the unibody, see if that helps.

Joe, correct me if I'm wrong...