• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What Should I Do?

ibjakesxj

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a noob so be easy on me,

I just bought a 2000 XJ as my DD. I have a 1970 Nova that i'm gonna start buying Parts for/ Rebuild. But I want to lift this Jeep some. Knowing that I probably won't go off roading very often. I want to put a lift that will be reliable. And not give me problems as a DD.

I was thinking 3-4" with 31's. I need some advice on which brands to go with.

Any Suggestions would be great

3-4" is way overkill for 31s IMO... I would put a 2" lift on it max. You also will be happier with the ride (control arm angle) and can keep your brake lines and many other OEM parts at 2".

recommended by who? :dunno:

I ran 32s on 3.5" for a while. Could have run it on 3" with a tiny bit of trimming. 3" is overkill for 31s IMO, as I said before... note I said IMO, your opinion obviously differs.

its recommended by manufacturers. I guess it depends how much space you want in the wheel wells for flex. I've seen some low riders on here.

I run 31s on 3 inch and i find it perfect.

edit: Example.

38933_104884306232661_100001332774399_36451_3038716_n.jpg

Found on this board. Thats 4.5 inch lift and 31s btw.

Last edited:
Don't do it, keep it stock and you will never have any problems with it. Build the nova and forget about the jeep. On the jeep you build it break it build it break it....... On the Nova you build it and enjoy it.

he makes probably the best sense of whats been said so far. use the site for the oem tech discussion when something(and i mean when not if) something starts to act up. if you really get into wheeling this thing, then come on over to the mod tech and we'll help straighten you out.

Last edited:
DUMP ALL THE MONEY INTO THE NOVA!!! ;)