• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Question about Chrysler 8.25

nwcherokee

NAXJA Forum User
I've found a 8.25 out of a '94 XJ non-ABS so i'm assuming it's a 27 spline, 3.55 gears. Can this axle be upgraded to 29 or larger spline to accomodate a locker on 33's? I'm fairly new to the XJ's & i'm just doing my homework to make sure I don't end up buying a giant piece of scrap metal. I'm hoping to snag this axle & eventually go to atleast 29 spline, 4.11 or 4.56's and maybe a Lock-Right or True-Trac. Thanks for the help.

If its a automatic yes you can assume 3.55s. You don't have to go 29 spline but you'll need a new carrier to do so. I just waited until I found a 97 & up rear to get the 29 spline.

Pass on the 27 spline and keep checking your local chapter's for sale section.

When I was in the market for a 8.25 out of a newer XJ I was checking every few hours when I had the chance...found it and picked the axle up within an hour of it being posted due to the seller being 10 minutes away from me :)

your luck may not be as good as cherokeemanatee's but the odds are that you will likely find one that is exactly what you want. just be patient. you can even find them built for a reasonable price.

also, you may be able to use this site (though it will only list yards that upload their inventory):
http://www.car-part.com/

who knows... if you plug in an '88 you may be able to find an XJ44 in your area too.

just FYI, all 8.25s are non ABS and came in 3.07, 3.55, or 4.10 (never in 3.73).

As long as you're going to get 29-spline shafts and a replacement locker (Truetrac, Detroit, ARB, OX, et al), that housing will work just fine.