• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

heater isn't blowing as warm as it used to

scott00tj

NAXJA Forum User
Normally I turn on the heat and about the time I'm half way to work I'm roasting and need to open the window. Today I realized I was still cold when I got to work. I felt the air coming out of the vents and it just didn't seem very warm. Of course this happens just as its getting colder. I'm not good with HVAC systems, but would like to try and fix this myself. Where do I start troubleshooting?

Always post year/engine for most accurate responses.

What is the history of routine cooling system maintenance? IE: coolant changes?

What is the engine running at on the coolant temp. gauge on the dash?

Oftentimes, the heater core begins to get clogged up with very small particles which reduces the amount of heat getting into the cab. Reverse flushing with a garden hose can "sometimes", but not always restore function.

Maybe its a low T problem. :laugh:

Always post year/engine for most accurate responses.

What is the history of routine cooling system maintenance? IE: coolant changes?

I think it's been flushed once in its life, but I'm not 100% sure about that. It's a '99 with the 4.0L.

What is the engine running at on the coolant temp. gauge on the dash?

Once warmed up the temp gauge is right on 210*.

Oftentimes, the heater core begins to get clogged up with very small particles which reduces the amount of heat getting into the cab. Reverse flushing with a garden hose can "sometimes", but not always restore function.

Anyone have a writeup on doing this?

I was not getting any heat in my 1999 a few years back. A friend took off the two small black hoses under the hood by the firewall that connect to the heater core and blew them out with an air hose I believe.