• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Your Opinion Please. Repair Manifold or new?

Samson04

NAXJA Forum User
I have recently discovered that my manifold is cracked at the collector on my 98xj sport. I don't see much way of getting to it and repairing it without taking it off. I am a welder/ fabricator so I am certain that I can weld it and repair it once it is off. However, are there great benefits to going with an aftermarket header or manifold? I don't have a lot of extra cash to throw at it and it is my DD. What do you think? Remove, repair, and re-install existing manifold, or purchase new manifold or header?

Can you snap a picture? How bad is the crack?

When I purchased our '99 it had a crack as well. I had it off anyway for a headgasket replacement so I welded up it and it has been fine for ~30k miles now.

This was the crack before repair:
ExhaustCrack.jpg

I am at work right now with no way to take or upload pics. Looks very similar to yours though. I do have a pic on my cell that I could text you if you want. PM me with your #.

I am about to repair a similar crack in my manifold. Do you remember what method/rod you used? thanks
Nothing fancy. Just cleaned up the effected area really well and hit it with my Millermatic 180 MIG.

One other technique used to help stop the crack from propagating is to drill the ends of it, then weld. The round holes at the ends of the crack are basically a stress reliever.

One other technique used to help stop the crack from propagating is to drill the ends of it, then weld. The round holes at the ends of the crack are basically a stress reliever.
That would work if you could actually get a drill bit at both ends of the crack. ;)
Unfortunately in my case there is/was no way to do so were the closest side of the tubes meet.