• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Which 44?

Droopy76

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm off work today due to a kidney stone. I'm in pain and can't sleep so I decided to do some research on a future axle swap. I've been trolling for a while and I have three possible canidates for the front. What I need to know is which one will be the easiest\cheapest to swap in. I work in a garage so I have all the tools I need to do the work and also work with a couple of good welder\fabricators. Im just not sure which axle would be the "best".

Ford 5 lug DSD HP44 with the weld on wedges and warn lockouts. Didn't say what year. $300

82 Jeep J10 6 lug DSD non-disco 44 with warn lockouts. $250

78 Ford F-250 leaf sprung HP44 with internal lockouts, flat top nuckles, and twin piston calipers. $450

So what do you guy's think? The first one also has the matching 9in. rear for $100. Lay some knowledge on me.

Thanks

Droopy

You really need to decide a few things first:

1) What bolt pattern do you want? What size wheels?
2) What gearing? (One of those might already have what you need)
3) How much do you plan on spending?
4) What size tire (related to #3)
5) What steering options do you need/want?

Out of those options, either of the Fords would go well, but you need to decide on #1 before picking.

Check out Mr. N's Articles and CRASH's D44 Tech.