• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.25 Pinion Guard?

kinlawk

NAXJA Forum User
I have been dragging the rear diff all over rocks lately and I am scared that I am going to break the pinion yoke or the U-joint or retainer straps. After searching I don't see any info. I am a certified welder and was thinking of bending some 1/2" plate into a U shape and welding it to the diff. I also want to weld a plate in front of the lip on the bottom so it will slide over the rocks better.

So, my main questions are:

Is it ok to weld to the diff.?

Has anyone made one before?(post pics)

Any aftermarket support for this?(that works well)

Thanks for the help in advanced.

Kinlaw

Here's how I did my D60:

PinionGuard3.jpg

PinionGuard4.jpg

Shave it and take a look a Rough-stuff's diff cover.Also see if you can drag up some pics of Nth-Degree's pinion slider!

Just saw this, but I was thinking of shaving the lip on mine and welding a skid to it along with some type of strap to bolt it closer to the yoke. What do you guys think?

What did you end up doing Kinlaw?

Josh

I was searching google for pinion guards for Dana and this came up.
Looks nice I really want to put one on mine but just couldn't find an easy way. I might steel the clamp on concept.

Also I looked through your thread, but I wasn't able to post in the Advance Fabrication and Engineering section I don't know why that is blocked for me. Is there a minimum number of post first to get in there? Sorry I just don't travel NAXJA too often. Usually on Pirate.

I just wanted to say RCman you have some nice design and fabrication skills. To bad you weren't a little closer

~Justin

http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=956040&page=92

Here's how I did my D60:

PinionGuard3.jpg

PinionGuard4.jpg

Haha. Thank you.