• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ wiring questions (engine-dash harness compatibility?)

1x1_Speed_Craig

NAXJA Forum User
A quick intro (from a NAXJA newb)...

My background is in CJs, and I also drive an '05 LJ. I have rebuilt a couple CJs from the ground-up. Cherokees are new to me, however, and I have been getting a crash course in XJs since my 10-year-old daughter & I picked up a project that'll be her vehicle when she gets her license. I'm very proud (her own build thread is HERE). She won't get it for free...I'm matching her dollar-for-dollar on the build, and she'll be doing a lot of the work. Her "base" vehicle is an almost rust-free '93 XJ 2-door that was given to us by a friend of mine.

In the past 5-6 weeks, I have picked up three (3) parts XJs, all running/driving vehicles that I got VERY inexpensively.
  • 1992 XJ 2-dr., 4.0L (ODBI)/AX-15 manual with 157K (runs great)
  • 1994 XJ 2-dr., 4.0L (ODBI)/AW4 auto with 242K (runs well, but transmission won't shift out of 1st gear)
  • 1996 XJ 4-dr., 4.0L (ODBII)/AW4 auto with 197K, runs rough, and wasn't maintained well (but trans shifts good, and vehicle is unmolested)
I want to use the steering column/airbag from the '96 in her XJ.
My understanding is that '95-96 models had a mechanical (vs. electrical) airbag. At this point, the '92 4.0 appears to be the best motor choice, but I'm not sure about the auto vs. manual transmission. I may have shot myself in the foot by doing so, but I already sold the computer module for the '94 4.0L auto (if I go the auto route).