• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How long does she have?

chris94xj

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first post here, someone over a jeepforum.com suggested I visit here sometime. Well my xj has given me years of loyal service with 240,000 miles, but I think she has had enough. I am burning/ leaking oil at an alarming rate, probably a quart and a half every 3 weeks or so. Leaks just about everything else, coolant, differential fluid, tranny fluid is brownish black.

I just cant keep up with fixing everything anymore, on top of that Im a poor college student and dont even have anywhere to work on it. I cant decide If i should fix it all or sell it when the engine blows. It has some sentimental value as it was my fathers and he passed away about a year ago, so I really want to keep it. How can I squeeze some more life out of this thing until I have the money to fix it? Any tips or comments would be greatly appreciated.

First, find out if it's burning or leaking it. If it's burning that is bad news, but leaking... just keep it full! When you have time/money, fix the leaks. My MJ currently leaks about a quart every 150-250 miles but runs like a top.

Any bad noises from the engine? Any blue smoke from the tailpipe? How's the oil pressure?

If it's a 4.0L engine and it's not making any bad noises and hasn't been hydrolocked, it'll probably do another hundred thousand no problem.