• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2001 XJ W/ $3,500 to spend on stage 1

bananaclip

NAXJA Forum User
Guy's and Gals, I just picked up a very nice 2001 xj and am ready to begin my offroad build. My intention is to keep this street legal. I have $3,500 left for stage one of this process. I am very aware that $3,500 will not touch my final build cost but it will be enough to get me started. I am a rookie to the XJ and need some advise from you good people. I would like to run 35's unless you advise against it. My xj has the 8.25 in the rear and a 30 up front they are both equiped with 3.73 gears. Can I get some advise where to start and recommended vendors?

wow you got really lucky with the gears, guessing you have the tow package. Do you have stock skids?

That is ALOT of money you have to spend. I say 6.5" long arm kit and some 33" M/T's until you can re gear for 35"s. 4.88's would suit you nicely.

Is it a clean 01? running 33's for a while will alos give you the chance to keep stock flares for a while. Then when you get some body damage you'll feel more comfortable cutting it up!

oh and welcome to the addiction :cheers:

What are your planned intentions for wheeling? Rock, Sand, Mud, Painted lines @ the mall?
$3500 can go a long way to nowhere if you spend it in the wrong place.

$3500 can get you a locked up rig with 33s and 6.5" long arms.. with sliders and a winch bumper.. possibly even a winch..

Or.. It can buy you a nifty ass stereo'

Just sayin'