• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

best ways to boost mpg?

moparmansfield

NAXJA Forum User
im using my 01 xj for work, im a service tech that travels all around the bay area, and i drive on the average of 150 miles a day or more. im trying to get as much gas mileage as i can. it seems to be getting pretty bad mpg right now, around 12-15. im running a 3.5 lift with 31's, 3.55 gears. all i can think of is open up the exhaust some and put on an air intake. are there any other options i have? any help would be great.

Buy a Prius :D

Seriously though, air intake, exhaust, neon injectors, bored TB, and be easy on the skinny pedal I drive like a grandma and it helps my MPG's out ALOT

Buy a Prius :D

Seriously though, air intake, exhaust, neon injectors, bored TB, and be easy on the skinny pedal I drive like a grandma and it helps my MPG's out ALOT
At the risk of sounding stupid; How do Neon injectors help fuel economy and how involved/expensive is this modification?

Get a 4 banger DD and turn the XJ into a trail rig.

You're starting with a Jeep, which already ain't known for being good on gas. Then you're lifting it and putting big tires on it. This hobby ain't about how many MPGs you can get.

At the risk of sounding stupid; How do Neon injectors help fuel economy and how involved/expensive is this modification?
At the risk of sounding stupid myself, I have no idea. I know the Neon's injectors have a 4 hole spray opposed to the XJ's 1 I believe it is (someone correct me if I'm wrong) I just know that ALOT of people have done this mod and about 95% report better MPG's and a better throttle response

You're starting with a Jeep, which already ain't known for being good on gas. Then you're lifting it and putting big tires on it. This hobby ain't about how many MPGs you can get.
touche