• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tranny code question...

mickyfinn

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, newbie here and new to jeeps. The forum is great and I've found most of my questions answered just by searching. Sorry for the lengthy question...

History: 98 Sport, 4.0, auto. 160K, Bought it used, drove it home @ 3 hrs with no problems and no CELs except it stalled in the last mile home. It needed some TLC and a minor tune and my girlfriend brought it to a "tech" friend to go through front to back (gift for her daughter). Picked it up after a few weeks, the guy had lots of trouble stalling/starting and turned out to be quite the parts changer and not too big on diagnostics. It still had the stalling issue, that I found through some digging here that was a bad wire going to the stator, but more troubling is that it's throwing out 0700 and 0705 codes with the check engine light on now. I fixed the stalling issue, cleared the codes with my reader but they are still coming back. He installed a new TCM and NSS (and a WHOLE bunch of other crap) and given the codes I'm thinking it's related. We had no shifting issues before, and still don't. The NSS is working fine, starts only in neutral and park, and I'm getting continuity between terminals 8 and 7 only in those gears on the connector, but the codes keep coming back (also an 1899 code that comes and goes, but sounds related).

I did clean all the grounds I could find in the engine compartment, and everything looks solid. Any thoughts on what could be tripping these codes still. I did read somewhere about having to drive it for some time before the codes would clear, and I've only driven it a few times @ 20 miles each. Also read something about a connector under the dash, but not too sure where to start there.