• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help with a front axle swap on an 87 XJ Pioneer!

oldassXJlover

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I'm brand new to this so I was just wondering if anyone had any tips on a front axle swap for my XJ. The shock mounts are going, coil mount(driver side) is gone, and I think I stripped some teeth off my pinion gear last time out wheelin! I got a Dana44 in the rear which seems pretty strong but I wondering whether I should go for D60's front and rear so I know that the gearing will be the same. Does anyone have any experience pulling D60's outta the junkyard and throwing them onto a Cherokee? If so I'd really appreciate any tips and suggestions! I was told I could swap front and rear axles off a newer suburban? It's going to be only offroad use so longer axles definetly don't matter to me, if that helps any.:flame:

:)
This one for the front...

http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.aspx?jeep-sid=353&plID=354&partID=53093

and this one for the back...

http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.a...oogle&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=product

It'll all bolt in. Ready to go. While you're at it order me a set too. :)

Welcome to Naxja. The first thing I would suggest that you do is search for build threads and figure out which direction you want to go. There's tons of options!

Start here:
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=910505&highlight=dana+60

Last edited:
yep... 60s are not gonna be cheap, for bolt in you bend over for a fab company, otherwise, you are the fab company!