• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

which winch bumper?

M1A1TankerTom

NAXJA Forum User
im looking for a winch bumper for my 89 Comanche. I have done some searching and seen some of whats out their but I figured I would see what you guys thought. If you were gonna buy a winch bumper today what brand would you choose?

Logan's Metal winch bumper with old style pre-runner brush guard.

DSC03012.jpg

Holy loss of approach angle ^^^

If I made one, I would do it custom and either cut out the factory cross member or place the winch behind the x member and keep a very low profile bumper.

Thus why I don't have one yet. I value my approach angle much more than a winch at this point in my life.

I have a logans metal. It's very high quality, and as a dialy driver, my jeep feels much more protected from the bump and grind of daily use.

Its got great shackle mounts, beefy mounting plates with ton's of fasteners, and it reinforces the crack prone area around the steering box.

I don't wheel my jeep on hardcore trails like johnson valley, and with the bumpers smooth/bevelled lower edge, it has not hung me up on anything yet.

For the money, I think it or the Detours backbone is the best deal out there. I like the detours as a kit that keeps you stock looking. Very much understand someone who wants that. (I may eventually swap over, but I love my logan's bumper too much. :)

The way the logan's places the winch mount is very solid, too. It places it fairly low in front of the radiator, to maximize airflow. I appreciate that.

Here's a pic of mine...

DSC01474.jpg

DSC01609.jpg

DSC01610.jpg

First off, holy hell that sticks out far. I'm sure its beef though.