• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 Transmission and fluid level problems

Tryfan

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first time on this forum and I wondered if any one could help me with these issues. I changed the transmission fluid (only drained the pan) in my AW-4 (2001 XJ) the other day and added about 2qt of Dexron III/Merc which brought it up to about max when cold. About 4 inches further up the dipstick there is a max when hot check in neutral mark. It seems to me that is a lot of fluid expansion. Anyway after driving the jeep to hot and checking it in neutral the level really didn't increase very much. So I added more fluid and after adding about 6qt in total which I know is far too much it got close to the max when hot in neutral mark. Yesterday I started to get transmission fluid pour out of what seems the front of the transmission housing near where it meets the rear of the engine oil pan. The fluid was dropping onto the hot exhaust and smoking badly. I wonder if I have the right dipstick or what your experiences are regarding the levels on the dipstick. I will try and post a picture later. I have drained two quarts of transmission fluid out and it is not leaking as much. I checked the breather hose in the engine compartment and it seemed that there was some residual fluid there too. I am concerned in case I have blown a seal somewhere, pump failure etc. Thanks for any suggestions.

The cold and hot marks are 4 inches apart? I don't think so, no kind of fluid expands that much. Look at it closer, I think there's a section in the owner's manual on dipstick markings.