• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

lighting questions

mikie2084

NAXJA Forum User
I am not an electrician, I have 2 Hella 500s and a factory fog light switch. Can anyone give me detailed instructions on how to do this? Or should I go about it a different way? Im not getting power to the connectors under the bumper.

Thanks

Mike

First off if you hooked them direct even briefly you probably cooked the switch.
I would check for power at the switch first (in and out).
If you have power there then follow back from the connector under the bumper and look for a relay (small black box).
Test for power there.
I'll check back on this thread and see what you come up with.

First off if you hooked them direct even briefly you probably cooked the switch.
I would check for power at the switch first (in and out).
If you have power there then follow back from the connector under the bumper and look for a relay (small black box).
Test for power there.
I'll check back on this thread and see what you come up with.

A few years ago I installed Hella 500's and had a heck of a time getting them to work. I checked all of my connections and rechecked. Eventually, out of frustration I hit the relay box (with the switch in the 'on' position and my high-beams on) and bam! The lights worked.

Also, what did you hook your switch wire up to? (e.g. high-beam, parking lights?) If it is a fused circuit, check the fuse. My Hella's stopped working one day and I could have sworn it was the relay; however, my left headlight did not work on high (which is where I made the relay/switch connection). I replaced the fuse in the panel in the passenger footwell and it worked.

I've upgraded to IPF's now and haven't looked back one bit, the quality of components is x10 better IMHO. Hella 500's aren't too shabby though...