• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

bad idea?

SeansXJ

NAXJA Forum User
im just thinking out loud..im a rookie with the suspension stuff. i have been reading like crazy and i just wanted to ask this question thats been bugging me.

ok first im starting off with frame stiffners. im wanting to build my lower arms(mid arms). im just thinking about welding these
Chassis%20link%20brackets.jpg
on the chassis like the stock ones sit obviously farther back., and run my arms, keeping my RE adj uppers. how would this work out?

not sure if that makes sense..i have been reading way too much.

that link bracket is just an example..im still searching..

i believe further back on the framerails then the stock mounts, the metal is thinner and not reinforced like where the stock mounts are. you would need to make a saddle(for the lack of a better term) that intigrated the stock mount to weld those brackets to or if you cut the stock mounts off, the saddle would have to be longer to spread out the load. i would sleave and bolt the saddle/mount to the framerail along with welding. this is just one option as there are many, many ways to do this.

if the xj had a thicker full frame, then you could just weld those brackets to the frame.

You don't want to use longer lower arms with the stock length upper arms. The suspension geometry will be off and cause drivability issues. I suggest you look at some mid or long arm kits from some NAXJA vendors.

I'd weld mounts like that to the bottom of the frame, since the mount itself has plenty of surface area against the frame and quite a bit of weld bead length. I'd also add a reinforcing plate up the inside of the frame, however it fits. If you use a different bracket, like a U shaped, then plate the bottom of the frame in that area and weld the bracket to the plate.