• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what welder should i buy?

blazinjames

NAXJA Forum User
i want to start fabricating my own bumpers, rocksliders and roll cage eventually, i have very little welding experience but would like to improve what are some cheap welders i should look at buying for this purpose

I want a wire fed one and i want o spend as little as possible, but i want to make sure the welds will hold up

Unfortunately, "cheap" and "good" are 2 words that don't mix with "welder"
Miller, Lincoln, and Hobart are the big names. I'd stick with those. Look on craigslist/ebay for used equipment. Better to buy a used high quality system then a new cheap one.
Size wise, if you're serious about building cages, a 240V, 180 amp rig is your minimum. Bumpers/sliders/armor can be put together with the 110V-120a or 140A, but 1/4" is the outside limit for that size. If you do get one of the smaller welders(any 110V machine) get one that includes the gas regulator and setup, even if you are planning to start out with flux core wire and upgrade later. You don't save any money by upgrading later, and the machines that don't include the regulator are all low end units.

There are cheaper ones available, but size-wise, this is probably minimum for roll cage/serious armor fab (it would be my choice):
Millermatic 180 If you buy used, you can get the older model of the -180 which doesn't ahve the "auto-set" feature a lot cheaper.