• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

advice on diagnosing a bad ball-joint?

Ben824

NAXJA Forum User
I recently noticed some very loud road noise after I had my new BFG KM2s rotated for the first time since I purchased them back in December. I inspected the tires since they were much louder than before and I noticed two out of the four had some uneven wear. Being a former auto student I got out my big automotive text book (this thing has everything and its like 3 inches thick) and looked up the section on tires. It showed different various possible wear patterns which the closest one to mine was "cupping" which gave a few different possible reasons, one of which was wore out ball-joint. I know there are alot of other possible reasons that the tires are wearing unevenly and I will address those too especially alignment. But since I have never tried diagnosing a bad ball-joint before I thought I would get some advice from a fellow Jeeper. The book gave some ways but they were general automotive to cover all cars across the board. But I figured someone here could give me a sure fire way to do it on a Jeep. So any suggestions?

Jack the Jeep up so that the tires are a couple inches off the ground. Put a long lever, like a tire iron or jack handle, under a tire and lift up. If you feel play, then the ball joints are bad.

When I do this on my Jeep, I can actually see the upper bad joints moving back and forth. Sooo... it's time for me to replace them. These ones are about 4 years old.