• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Head replacement issues

blistovmhz

NAXJA Forum User
I had a couple bad exhaust valves on my 98 xj (4.0L), so I dropped in a reman. head yesterday. The stumbling went away, and the ECU isn't throwing any codes. However... *sigh*....

During my first test drive, I did some hard acceleration, and then came to a stop and idled for a few seconds, and heard some fairly serious tapping. Sounded like valves to me, but I'm no expert. The tapping went away after about 2 seconds and hasn't returned since.
Next, on real hard acceleration I heard what sounded like scraping for a second or two. I've been fooled before into thinking this was a cylinder wall being destroyed when in fact it was just a vacuum leak, but I can't find any leaks.

Next, I'm not positive but I think my oil pressure is lower at idle than it used to be. I did change to a non-synthetic oil for the break in and cleaning, but I'm not sure that'd make that big a difference.

The fuel economy has increased substantially from 12/16mpg to 17/21mpg, but I don't feel any increase in power. I've got 4.10's on 31". I should be screamin' off the line with a new head. My 92 with 500,000Km on it accelerated slightly faster.

Did I just trash my block?

I'm supposed to be heading out to BC on holidays (1400KM drive) tomorrow. Would be nice to know if I should bring a spare engine and my garage with me :)

1. The 4.0 is a hydrolic lifter engine. You probably have some week lifters unless you replaced those too. If not, they are probably tired.
2. If you not positive.... the only oil pressure related items to the head are the rocker tubes. Did you replace those too?