• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Replacing the Radiator and have questions

LazersGoPEWPEW

NAXJA Forum User
So I've never done a radiator replacement before but it seemed pretty simple.

I've got new hoses, new rad, new clamps, and a bottle of anti-freeze and a new radiator cap. Am I missing anything else?

Is a bottle of antifreeze the only thing I'll need?

Get a gal of distilled water. Also some "Water Wetter" if you have overheating problems.
Some wire ties to replace the ones you cut.
Be careful of the shroud around the clutch fan--they break easily.

Wayne

What do I need to do with the distilled water? Pour it in with the green juice?

I just got some pretty standard coolant. Beats me if it needs to be mixed.

It will say 50/50 or "Premixed" on the bottle if it is. If not, you'll need to mix it yourself. That's where the distilled water comes in.

Your profile doesn't say Auto or Manual. If auto, you may need a disconnect tool for the trans cooler line at the bottom of the rad.

Yea I have an automatic. So if I just go buy premixed I'll only need one bottle.

I'll be taking it to the base shop so I'd assume they'd have the tool I need.

Also how long should this repair take if things go relatively smoothly. I'm also going to pop in my new headlight harness and housings once the rad is out.

If you buy pre-mixed, go ahead and get at least 2 gallons. I did a radiator replacement on my XJ last year, took a couple of hours start to finish. The tool to disco the transmission line is not expensive, and is useful for the future. Good Luck!

If you're going to pull everything, might as well do the thermostat too. And yes, you will most likely need two gallons if you go the pre-mix route.