• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stock VS' Aftermarket shafts...Experiences

Deadman 94 xj

NAXJA Forum User
This might seem like a dumb noob question but that's because I'm a dumb noob :D

For those locked up front and actually wheel, when did you decide to upgrade? Experiences? Are aftermarket worth the weight in gold?

I've been wheeling for quite some time now on 35's, D30, locked rear, 4.88's. I just locked the front and this is where my issue is.

I always carry spares and have become very good at changing shafts on the trail. I guess what it comes down to is that I'm tired of breaking shafts. Mostly U-joint failures. The last two times out I poped a u-joint doing nothing stupid. No binding, no spin, no real skinny pedal use.

Where I'm at right now is where I'm sure a lot of guys are with trying to decide whether or not to keep sinking $$ into the D30.

Thanks!

I would first look at what type of U-joint failure you are experiencing since you keep breaking joints and not shafts. Some things to consider

1) Are you using spicer 760x u-joints. They are stronger than the 297 u-joints, and spicers are stronger than other non high-dollars joints (CTM;s, ect)
2) Did you modify the shafts to accept a full circle clip? or have you tacked the caps of the joint in place.

jim

Thanks. I've done none of that. The first break was a stock spicer u-joint that's seen a bit of abuse. I'm not sure if it was 5-760 or 297. Whatever comes in a 97 shaft. Probably 297.

The second faliure was a Napa (Super Strength Precision :D ) joint that I only put in because I was in a hurry and finding spicers local is dificult unless you want to spend $71 at the dealer. The third faliure was also a fresh Napa joint. Whatever you guys do, don't buy those joints.