• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

think i broke u joint(s)

sjbond67

NAXJA Forum User
I went wheeling today and about 3/4 of the way home i notice a popping noise that was consistent. Then it got really bad when i took a left turn. I can feel the clicking/popping noise through the floor board. Since it was dark im not sure which one it is. At first i thought it might have been the left one but it also felt like it was the one on the drive shaft. How do you check them? I've never done these before but it seems pretty simple. If its the axle shaft joints the whole hub has to be removed right? How serious is this and How long can i drive like this? I wont beable to start working on them until this weekend. Also i dont think it is my track bar(stock), i just tightened it at the axle mount. any info or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

99 XJ 2-3" with 31 auto, stock sway bar

if its a real lound noise u might have popped a cap. if so u should be able to see it with a flash light. if no real visable signs stick a pry bar in there between the top of the lower ball joint and the axel trunion. pry up and down look for movement. then roate the wheel and check the other end. only real way to check if its siezed is to pull the wheel and pop the tie rod off the knuckle and move the hub back and fourth with ur hand u will feel if it binds.