• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

need help...grease monkey in training

JimmyFingers

NAXJA Forum User
first off im pretty new to major motor surgery and/or diagnosing major problem so im gonna apologize now for the following stupid questions and lengthy story telling. so here goes a few mths ago i noticed antifreeze drippin from under my engine bay when i got home i checked the overflow and it was low so i added some takin it to the middle between min and max and the next few days i kept checking it after about a week there was no more leaking. a few weeks later i got to work and could hear sizzeling under the hood. i popped the hood to find the top passenger side of the radiator had a small leak... again i added some coolant and in a few days it seemed to have stopped. not sure why it didnt get worse up to this point but it didnt. anyway so i havent had any problems for about a mth or too and just the other day i set out to do some wheelin with a few friends on the way to the trail i noticed my temp gauge was still on dead cold....i knew something was wrong within what felt like a minute i heard my radiator blow up and steam shot out from under my hood i pulled over shut it off and popped the hood. my over flow tank was full and the pass side of the bay was soaked i touched the top rad. tube and about burnt my hand i touched the rad cap and it was cold i let things cool down for a min poured a gal of water in the rad and turned around and went home. other then the stated problem the motor seemed to run good back to my house. pissed off, sad and broke i let it set in the driveway untill the wkend ....then i made room in the garage for heep tryed to start it and it wouldnt start after a few trys it finally started but sounded horrible i barely touched to gas peddle and it reacted as if i st