• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

why all the hate?

spjeep4x4

NAXJA Forum User
Are IRO lifts really that bad? I just installed their 6.5" LA system on my '98 Classic. I haven't had a chance to use it offroad yet due to lack of time and good places. I picked it because it seemed like a decent manufacturer and was in my price range. Just wondering if I made a mistake and should look at some new options.

Their long arm adjuster seems like a bad design. 1 10mm bolt to hold the axle seems too weak. I have no experience with this though.

I've never heard anything bad about IRO lifts. Considering the fact that you've never even used it why would you be thinking of changing it. yeah you might find you want to tweak it, true for any lift, but wholesale change? not unless you want to go higher or lower, IMO.

I have bought small things from them, they have great customer service..

My brother inlaw bought almost $3000 worth of lift/other parts, No regrets
The long arm system is DIFFERENT.. but i have seen it in action and would order one. but im a RC fan and I like RC's kit/price more..

for my XJ its RC for my ZJ its IRO

IRO gets a lot of crap about their UCA mount/adjuster setup. It just looks like it's weak and subject to failure. However for all the crap people give their design I have yet to see someone post about it actually failing. Generally, reviews from people who run their long arms seem to be pretty good.

I was just curious. I had seen several posts from guys who seemed to not like it at all. I really like it so far, although I haven't wheeled it. Another reason for that is I really want to make sure I have everything in good working order before I go play. I'm just really cautious.