• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Anyone have a case spreader?

PoSxJ

NAXJA Forum User
Trying to remove the carrier in my d30 so I can install my Aussie locker. I've tried every trick in the book and it's barely moved. If it's this hard to get out, it's not going to be any easier to put back in. Just thought I'd see if anyone has a case spreader I could borrow before I try and make one myself.

Trying to remove the carrier in my d30 so I can install my Aussie locker. I've tried every trick in the book and it's barely moved. If it's this hard to get out, it's not going to be any easier to put back in. Just thought I'd see if anyone has a case spreader I could borrow before I try and make one myself.

I am shocked that you need one. I am by no means an expert in this area but I have never needed or used one for a D30 and I don't believe I know anyone else who has needed one? You can't get it with a small prybar or screwdriver? Usually you can use the gear pattern to help "pry" it out?

Michael

This may sound stupid, but did you pull the axles out? Just askin'... not trying to flame, honestly! You'd be suprised at what people miss!:banghead:

Yeah, the axles are completely out. I tried the rag trick, and I just ended up with a few shredded rags. I'm surprised I can't get it out also, I've been doing lots of searching and everyone seems to be able to get it out with a few taps of a hammer and a pry bar.

Take 2 prybars and pry against the ring gear bolts and the center section, one prybar at the top and one prybar on the bottom. That has always worked for me.