• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What type of gas to run?

Trail Blazer

NAXJA Forum User
I have a Lincoln Pro-Mig 135 (Nascar Edition) welder and I've been using flux wire for the last 5 years. I use the .023 wire so don't have to deal with so much snot on the items I'm welding. Welding 1/4" with this sucks.

I have .035 wire for doing the 1/4", but leaves soooo many boogers. The welder has the hook-ups to run gas, but I'm not sure what to use. I don't weld anything over 1/4" (so far). I know that I have to switch the polarity on the wires of the welder, and put a different cover on the end of the gun. But what type of gas should i run? Any help would be nice. TIA

Pic of my lovely snot...

IMAG0213.jpg

as far as i know, thats what most people run for what we do. thats what i run! couldnt be happier to be rid of fluxcore =\ i hate boogies

Yes need different wire without flux, right now I run 100% Co2 right now on my machine. It gets deeper penetration then the argon blend. But I dont think its that big of a difference. I am going to exchange this tank when its empty for a 75/25 blend argon/co2. Co2 has a lot more splatter then the blend and the end result is not as clean looking as the blend. Do you have the regulator already? On the gas pressure setting to lil you will get splatter and too much will just waste gas. Should say in the manuel what to set it at. I like running the .035 wire best. Also watch your settings, welding with flux core is hotter, with gas you are not going to be able to weld thick metal in one pass.

And get a decent wire brand not harbor freight wire, makes a difference!

most do 75/25 for a shielding gas. you can use both flux core along with a shielding gas- its called dual shield.